Day 2 in Montreal (Nov.2017)

Leave a comment
Montreal / restaurant / travel

Day 2 in Montreal started with a trip north to Marche Jean Talon. Now in winter Jean Talon is a much reduced version, as the insulated panels go up for the winter, making it a completely indoor market (similarly at Marche Atwater). There is less to see, but it still a great place to shop.

Next I decided to head over to the Montreal neighbourhood of Little Italy, to visit one of the best known Italian grocery stores in Montreal, Milano Fruiterie. Last time we were in Montreal, they were closed for renovations. A *huge* Italian grocery store, with an amazing array of Italian products. Then a hike down St. Laurent Blvd. through the neighbourhood of Mile End. I was heading there to check out Style Labo, a vintage industrial deco place.  St. Laurent Blvd. is packed with design stores, boutiques, and places to eat, like Pizzeria Magpie. Frankly there are too many good places to eat to try in one trip.

Next, I trekked further south to Ave. Laurier E. The first place I visited is the kitchen store Les Touilleurs on Avenue Laurier E. Then off for a snack at Juliette & Chocolate, and pick up some Carambar candy for my daughter at Gourmet Laurier. Then I zig-zagged through the streets to check out the unique houses in Le Plateau Mont-Royal on the way to Sherbrooke Station. Montreal abounds with historical buildings, many in the guise of churches. One of my favourite buildings in Mile End is Fire Station 30. Built in 1904-1905, this chateau-style building is from a different time, when things were meant to last a long time. It also house the firefighters museum.

I ate dinner at a place we have eaten before on the Plateau – La Salle à Manger. This is superb little neighbourhood restaurant, and well worth the visit (see previous post). Having recovered from the lobster spaghetti of the previous night, I started with a simple bone marrow.

I followed this with a Monkfish bourgignone (I see a pattern forming here).

Finally I finished off with a chocolate tart.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.